Movies Reviewed, 2017
REVIEWS, BY YEAR:


| Home | Own | Love | Recommend | Highlights | Statistics | Double Features |
Movies Index
about my reviews

06/

06/17/17
People vs. OJ Simpson -

06/09/17
Bloodline Season Three -

05/30/17
Midnight Special -

05/29/17
Master Of None -

05/28/17
Sully -

05/27/17
Coraline - merritt loves this movie and it's her first real movie crush. i'm not a huge fan of the story or anything, but the animation is really great. the fact that they're able to do what they do with stop-motion animation is tremendous. selick directs and he learned a lot from jules engel who worked on fantasia, among other things. anyway, the animation is great and it's worth watching just for that. i think michel gondry would have fun diagramming all the sequences. B.
Revenge Of The Sith - definitely the best of the prequels. i put off watching this for a long time since i never liked episode 1 or 2, but this one redeems the series. palpatine is truly evil and played very well. he's over the top and it fits perfectly. christensen leaves something to be desired, but isn't awful. portman and mcgregor finally act like we know they're capable of acting. and the script finally has something to bite into. zoe really digs this one. it's pg-13 so i might be a bad dad. B+.

05/26/17
Wizard Of Lies - bernie madoff is a piece of shit. decent movie about the downfall of this asshole. wish there had been more scenes of him getting raped in prison. there were zero. B.

05/25/17
Honey We Shrunk Ourselves - pretty horrible sequel to the original film. i think this is actually the 3rd film in the series. mila kunis is in it when she's probably 14. it's not worth watching, but zoe was into it for a bit so...D-.

05/21/17
Fear The Walking Dead Season Two - barely following this show at this point; it just never caught my attention like the first one did. hopefully season three gets on track otherwise i'll dump it. C+.

05/07/17
Walking Dead Season Seven - Probably the worst season so far. the first episode sees two major characters getting killed (i predicted the first one, but didn't see that glenn would be next). pretty sad after that episode. the rest of the season was a bit flat, though. they just seem to be in a rut of doing kind of the same thing over and over. there needs to be some growth or something because it's not going anywhere right now. still like the characters. B-.

05/06/17
Handsome - jeff garlin netflix movie about a detective looking into a case. not a ton here to get excited about. it kept my interest and had a couple laughs. nothing special. C+.

05/03/17
Small Crimes - netflix movie about a guy who gets out of jail and all hell sorta breaks loose. kept my interest, but didn't wow me in any way. the ending was unexpected and the acting was on point. B-.

04/28/17
Get Out - talked with a berkeley student about this and she said without irony that white people are crazy and fucked up after watching this movie. so, there's that point of view. to be fair to the movie, i don't think that's all the movie is about, but it did reinforce that prejudice in this instance.
the movie is actually in the mold of a lot of 70s horror films about race and revenge. there were a bunch in that decade that tackled race and gender. fight for your life, for example, was about a black guy whose family was brutalized by whites and then he gets revenge. this one takes a while before it gets to the revenge portion of the film, but it finally does and that's when it excels. when it finally embraces the genre and gets into the catharsis it's really fun. when it's portraying every white character as deeply racist in a passive aggressive and micro agression type way, then it doesn't do as much for me. B+.

04/22/17
One And Not Done - john calipari 30 for 30. as these documentaries tend to do, this one humanized the guy a bit. i still suspect he's shady, but i have a certain level of respect for a guy who basically found this niche in college basketball as a guy who cares more about the players getting their due in the nba, than some b.s. idea of doing what's best for the game by sticking around longer. it's real rich to hear an old white guy like jim calhoun talk about staying 4 years for the good of the game when he doesn't have to worry about providing for everyone in his empoverished family. calipari realizes that for those lottery pick level guys that he's going for, it makes little to no sense to stick around just to help ncaa basketball or their school. B.

04/17/17
Portlandia Season Six - not as good as it used to be, but still solid enough to keep in the rotation. B.

04/16/17
Self/Less - interesting idea that gets sorta co-opted in Get Out above. lacks in execution, but an interesting watch nevertheless. singh doesn't do anything remarkable visually, which is too bad because the fall was really special. B-.

04/09/17
Bad Moms - pretty good look at the modern white suburban mom who feels a lot of pressure in this facebook, instagram, pinterest world. society is stupid. funny movie. B.

04/08/17
Jinx: Life And Deaths Of Robert Durst - great series that was a bit like staircase or making of a murderer or those sorts of true crime documentaries. highly recommended with a pretty stunning ending. unfortunately the ending was ruined for me by the press coverage. that said, if it wasn't for the press coverage, i probably wouldn't have watched it. A-.

04/05/17
Workaholics Season Five - i don't watch amazon prime much so it's been a while, but i'm back. these guys are hilarious. stoner comedy. B+.

04/04/17
Blacklist Season Three - worst season so far. not sure if i'll continue. C+.

03/26/17
Gilmore Girls Season Two - there are some nice moments, but it's an hour long show and each season is like 22 episodes...just too much plot and not enough actually happening. doesn't hold up well against today's attention spans. C.

03/22/17
Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising - grrrl power version of the first one. has a few moments. i like rose byrne. B-.

03/12/17
Silicon Valley Season Three - wish there were more. B+.

03/10/17
Silicon Valley Season Two - still good. B+.

03/05/17
Silicon Valley Season One - took a few episodes to get into it, but turns out to be a great show that really flies by. needs to have longer seasons. oh well. B+.

03/04/17
Pee-wee's Big Holiday - nowhere near the film the first one is. zoe likes it for some reason. has some adult jokes that go flying over her head. think i'll have to take this out of the rotation though. C.

02/28/17
Mike And Dave Need Wedding Dates - another forgettable comedy. missable. C.

02/26/17
Honey, I Shrunk The Kids - efx were cool at the time, but are totally obvious now. good wholesome fun, though. zoe liked it but was a bit afraid of the ant and scorpion at first. stuck with it though and watched it pretty regularly for a while. B+.

02/25/17
Central Intelligence - forgettable comedy that passed the time. C.
E.T. - a classic family film that ages pretty well all things considered. zoe was into it and watched it a few times. A.

02/15/17
Blacklist Season Two - not as good as season one. they're doing less episodic stuff which is usually nice, but in this case it's not doing it for me. B-.
Gilmore Girls Season One - starts out interesting. the witty banter is nice and the characters are new and all that. kinda wears on though and i'm hoping things get better. C+.

02/07/17
Becoming Warren Buffett - good look at the man behind the legend. seems like a good guy. interesting. B.

02/01/17
Zootopia - good animated film that's fun for the whole family. i was cracking up at times and zoe seemed to be entertained. that said, she hasn't returned to it. maybe i'll try it on her again. B+.

01/25/17
Under The Dome Season One - okay, but not great "lost"-ish tv series that was interesting enough for a season, but got weird in the second season and so we decided to call it quits. ultimately had the same feeling as lost - that it didn't really know where it was going and was going to be a groan-worthy ending. for me, so much of a tv series' appeal is in the ending, so i didn't feel bad about cutting this one short. C+.

01/20/17
50 Shades Of Gray - watched this by myself while working on some wood. funny, sad, true. got the tv in the workshop hooked up so i watched this while building a table for the office. it's actually a good movie that was more tasteful and thoughtful than i expected. i basically expected a "skin-e-max" style soft core porn, but it had more depth to it. never read the book, so i can't comment on that. B.

01/18/17
Straight Outta Compton - had high hopes for this one considering all the hype and the fact that i like the original group. unfortunately it was a sprawling hagiography that was clearly influenced by the fact that ice cube and dr. dre were producers. gets into too much stuff after the breakup of the group and doesn't tell the whole story. acting was mostly not very good and overall it wasn't worth writing home about. makes the oscar hub bub about a lack of color in that year's ceremony seem all the more hollow. C.

01/08/17
Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back - probably my favorite of the five i've seen, but a new hope is right up there with this one. honestly, i've never been the biggest fan of the series and never bothered to watch episode 3 or 7, or 8 now that it's out now. but the first two in the series are classics and watching them with zoe has been real fun. A.

01/06/17
Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope - watched this with zoe and it was magnificent. she's into it big time. A.

01/05/17
Blacklist Season One - pretty fun premise and spader does well, as always. B.